Design Lab Events and Workshops

Composting at Home
Thursday, October 1 at 2 PM

Learn about the process in which waste in NYC is disposed of and the importance of proper waste disposal.

Sustainable Design
Wednesday, October 7 at 3 PM

Learn about the intersection between sustainability & design with techniques to develop recyclable products and packaging.

Intro to Fusion with EG
Tuesday, October 13 at 12:30 PM

Learn the fundamentals of CAD software and how it is used to transform 2D sketches into 3D models.

Engineering X Design with Umi
Wednesday, October 21 at 6 PM

Chat with Umi Syam, Multimedia Editor at The NY Times, about her work at the intersection of design, engineering, & tech.

Fundamentals of Fusion 360 
Wednesday, October 28 at 3:30 PM

Learn the basics of product development, 3D modeling, and how to apply it in modern applications.

Intro to Illustrator
Friday, October 2 at 10 AM

Learn the importance of design software in the industry and fundamental concepts needed to create a design in Illustrator.

Basic Concepts of Photography
Thursday, October 8 at 3 PM

If you are interested in learning how to take better pictures but have no idea where to begin, this is the perfect workshop for you!

Design and Innovation: Ideation
Thursday, October 15 at 6 PM

Join Kathleen Chao to learn about the fundamentals of ideation and the process of generating new ideas to solve problems.

PCB Jewelry Making
Thursday, October 22 at 6 PM

Learn the basics of PCB design and how to implement these tools to create personalized jewelry.

Plastic Identification
Thursday, October 29 at 1 PM

Learn about the most common plastics, how to differentiate between them, and appropriate forms of disposal.

Intro to Eagle
Tuesday, October 6 at 5 PM

Learn the basics of PCB design and how to apply it in modern applications using computer-aided manufacturing features. 

Sewing Machine Basics
Monday, October 12 at 3 PM

Learn the basics of how to use a sewing machine including sewing machine features, basic stitches, fabrics, and more.

Advanced Arduino
Tuesday, October 20 at 5 PM

Learn about serial communication, motors, sensors, digital inputs & outputs, and analog inputs & outputs. 

Revit with EG
Tuesday, October 27 at 12:30 PM

Learn the fundamentals of Autodesk Revit and how it is used to transform architectural structures into 3D models.

SFX Halloween
Friday, October 30 at 10 AM

Learn how movie effects using makeup and prosthetics have evolved over recent years with advances in prosthetic technology.

Pattern Making 
Monday, November 2 at 5 PM

Learn the properties of various materials and develop the skills needed to create a more comprehensive & adjustable pattern.

Intro to Rhino 3D Design
Tuesday, November 3 at 11:30 AM

Learn rhino commands, understand perspective views, & manipulate simple shapes in Rhinoceros3D. 

Hand Sewing and Embroidery
Thursday, November 5 at 11 AM

Learn the basics of hand-sewing and embroidery! We’ll cover basic stitches, borders, and patterns.

Sustainable Food Wraps  
Friday, November 6 at 4:30 PM

Learn how to make your very own sustainable food wraps with either beeswax or soy wax.

Design and Innovation Studio
Tuesday, November 10 at 6 PM

Join Elaine to learn the fundamentals of rapid prototyping & the process of making products with the consumer in mind.

Intro to Photoshop Workshop Flyer

Intro to Photoshop 
Friday, November 13 at 1 PM

Learn the importance of design software in the industry and fundamental concepts needed to create a design in Photoshop.

Intro to Illustrator Workshop Flyer

Intro to Illustrator
Wednesday, November 18 at 3 PM

Learn the importance of design software in the industry and fundamental concepts needed to create a design in Illustrator.

Engineering X Design
Wednesday, November 18 at 6 PM

Chat with Jeremy, Creative Technologist at Gensler, about his work at the intersection of design, engineering, & technology. 

If you have a question about any of our events, email us at tandon-makerspace@nyu.edu

css.php